Ray Wang's Art Works Blog

Justin and Kelly’s Wedding Portrait AKA Daredevil & Spider Woman VS. Daleks

j_k_combined7

#Daredevil  #Spiderwoman  #doctorwho  #Dalek  #Exterminate

So my good friend Justin and Kelly are getting married, and they are possibly the biggest comic book/Sci-fi fanI have ever met in my entire life, so it is only logical to do something different and unique when it comes to their wedding portrait. So I started the planning stage about a year ago, asking Justin to pose for a photo during a seafood festival (See image below)

reference2

Using that pose as the basic structure, I placed him in the Daredevil custom (Since this is my first attempt in a fan art, please excuse me if I got any detail wrong regarding this beloved comic book character)

Then I asked Kelly to pose for me and combined the two photos to from the basis for my reference photo (See Image below)

reference1

So now I have the blueprint of what I am looking for, I went to work and started with a few sketches of them using pen and inks.

justin_kelly_concept1

After I am happy with the overall structure, I started to work on the actual painting.

Below is a short progress animation I created through out the entire production period (Actual painting times 5 weeks)

It was a super fun project to work with, and it’s funny how the progression moved from Justin and Kelly looking lovely at each other to Kelly and Justin about to start a fist fight. During this time I was greatly inspired by the various Captain America Civil War posters and added a circular pattern for a while into the painting before removing it. The movie’s sound track “Sharks don’t sleep” also was the companion for many hours during my production.

IMG_3176

final1

Congratulation to Justin and Kelly on their upcoming marriage and many many many happy years to come!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

